Brand Awareness; Measurable or Not 

What is brand awareness? 

Wikipedia describes it as the extent to which consumers are familiar with the qualities or image of a particular brand of goods or services.

 

Business dictionary defines it as the extent to which a brand is recognized by potential customers and is correctly associated with a particular product.

I personally prefer the business dictionary definition.
Now that we’ve gotten the definitions down let’s move to the measuring aspect.

In the nine months that I’ve practiced being a Social Media Strategist and Marketer, this has been the most daunting goal for me to achieve. Of course besides learning how SEO works.

For two weeks straight, I would comb through Google and every other search engine I known to man just to understand what metrics I need to have to measure brand awareness.

Of course I didn’t find anything I understood and this became a very big challenge for me. Luckily, I had the help of a few people who had adequate experience in this field. But one thing remained a problem, I wasn’t asking the right questions.

That was when I then sat down with myself to really understand what brand awareness is all about.

Then I realized something ;

Branding is more than just a well placed ad or logo.

After reading through different blogs and statistics, armed with the right questions this time, I finally started to make head way. Just like I was asking the wrong questions and getting the wrong answers, you can be measuring brand awareness in the wrong way.

Just like the saying goes “Good publicity is good publicity, bad publicity is good publicity and no publicity is bad publicity.” Despite this, you still try to avoid bad publicity.

So here’s what I found out on measuring brand awareness ;

Decide what brand awareness means to you or your company. Your boss might think it’s just getting the brand in front of as many people as possible, while your content marketer will want there to be a specific subset of people. Either of this two are relevant goals but when it comes to measurement, a specific goal has to be decided on. 

Now that you’ve decided on what brand awareness means to you or your company, set specific goals that are measurable around this decision. 

Set SPECIFIC goals not bogus ones. E.g.

  • % of increase in followers over a period of two months. As opposed to;
  • % of increase in engagement.

When you set specific goals or KPIs, measuring them becomes easy.
I hope I have been to convince and not  confuse you that Brand Awareness is measurable. 

Leave a Reply

